Nobody’s Fool

April 17, 2010

Isaac is nobody’s fool.

We’re not potty training per se, but Isaac is pretty obvious when he is pooping or needs to poop and tends to prefer privacy. When my mother in law was here, she was putting him to bed and he went into his closet and said ‘bye’; he soiled his diaper. She said something to the effect that if she’d had the potty in the closet, she probably could have had him poop on it.

I’ve tried asking in the past when he was headed to one of his usual privacy haunts if he wanted to try pooping on the potty and the answer was always no. Anyhow the other day, inspired by what Trudy had said I asked him if he wanted to try pooping on his potty in the closet, to my surprise he said yes.

I was even more surprised when he actually went. In true toddler fashion so was he and there was a lot of concern and ‘uh oh’ going on. I cheered, I congratulated, he said ‘no, no, no’. I offered chocolate and it all turned around.

Since then he’s pooped on the potty at least once a day. This morning he also learned that peeing gets you chocolate too. So this evening he peed, demanded his reward, let me put on his diaper and p.j’s then asked to use the potty again, less than a minute later. He pooped and got another chocolate.

Somehow I think I got played.

5 Responses to “Nobody’s Fool”

  1. jermangirl Says:

    Played or not that is definitely a step in the right direction!!

    Way to go Isaac!

  2. Leslie Says:

    Congrats on the sucesses. Although it has always turned me off the whole chocolate as a reward for poop…not because I am against rewards or edible ones but just because of the similarity in color of result and reward. But I hav eto say chocolate pudding is far worse:D

  3. eva Says:

    Wow! Good for Isaac and better for you…the less time you have two kids in diapers the better, right?!

  4. lisasophia75@hotmail.com Says:

    I’d poop for chocolate


Leave a Reply

