Slow Down

April 4, 2010

I can’t believe Sadie is already one month old! With Jason’s departure fast approaching I find myself trying to figure out how exactly I’m going to keep the three of us fed, clean and clothed without an extra set of hands around at night. I have gotten use to having my evenings mostly free after Isaac goes to bed (it took us well over a year to get to this point as all my  ‘poor me, my kid doesn’t sleep’ posts can attest to, and frankly I kind of enjoyed the me time).

Now, Sadie still sleeps well, but she’s gotten to enjoy being held while she sleeps downstairs and tends to wake up after 15 – 30 min if I lay her down on her change pad in the living room. I have so many things that I want to get done (like Sadie’s birth announcements, cleaning the kitchen, dealing with the diapers…etc.) that I find myself wishing she’d just stay asleep so I could get some things accomplished.  But I need to remind myself that they are only young once (this too shall pass) and my only real job/responsibility for the next year is to tend to my children. It doesn’t matter if I don’t get to the kitchen right away or if I can’t go on the computer for a day or two. I need to slow down and enjoy my time with the kids. The world will not end if we only bath every other day, but I can make Isaac’s day by taking a walk to the park or Sadie’s by snuggling for those extra 15 -20 min before I set her in her swing so that I can feed the dog and use the washroom.

I need to slow down and take the time to enjoy and be grateful for it all; the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Just 'cause she's so cute

Enjoying the little things

P.S  I still thank my lucky stars that this little girl is only only up two to three times a night

4 Responses to “Slow Down”

  1. Jenn Says:

    Hey Jackie, if it helps, Kaitlyn has had a total of 5 baths since she’s been home…..so don’t worry. You’ll survive!

  2. Jen Says:

    Sounds like you know your priorities, which is the first step! Where is Jason off to that will leave you on your own??

    They are adorable…and you’re so right – they are only little once! I’ll need to remember to refer back to this post in a few months when I’m going insane trying to handle two little ones!!

  3. studentsoflife Says:

    Jason is off to Trenton for three months to complete his fives (a military course for all the non-military readers). He leaves next weekend and isn’t back until early Jul.

  4. eva Says:

    OMG you should hear me whine and complain when Brad goes away for….2 weeks at a time. And I only have one kid (for now). Hats off to you military couples, because three months sounds brutal. For both spouses – poor Jason to miss all that time with the family!

    Sadie is adorable. 2-3 times a night sounds pretty good for a newborn, but I vaguely remember it doesn’t FEEL as good as it sounds, LOL.


Leave a Reply

