Two steps forward, one step back…

July 30, 2009

Things are going pretty well for us here in Winnipeg. Isaac is now officially a toddler and insists on walking everywhere. Work is going well enough and I’m slowly learning my job, although I wouldn’t go so far as to say I’m proficent yet. Thankfully I work in a great office and people are more than happy to answer my million questions about ‘now what?’. My job is staff work so I spend my days researching problems on the phone, via e-mail and internet, then I write clear and consise (I’m working on this part) little reports for people who make way more money than me so that they can make informed decisions. Soon I’ll be learning about Operational Testing and Evaluation and then I’ll write test plans to confirm the airworthiness of new equipment being implimented for air traffic control in the Canadian Forces. But I digress, this post was not suppose to be about work it is about one of my favorite topics since having Isaac; this post is about sleep.

Isaac has been a little off lately, he is happy enough, but he’s had a slight fever and his appetite is pretty hit or miss; we’re going to blame it on teething. He’s still doing very well at the sitters napping twice a day for a combined total of 3 – 5 hours sleep. He’s still doing well at falling asleep on his own, although somehow I’ve slipped back into the habit of breastfeeding just before bed. We lay him down, rub his back for about a minute and then say good night and shut the door. 8 times out of 10 he is still awake, but he goes to sleep pretty quickly after we shut the door.

I had weaned him of all his night feeds except a 21h30/22h00 top up and he was sleeping through until 5h00 or 6h00 in the morning. I have now cut out his morning nursing period, and he doesn’t nurse before nap time unless I’m around; in which case he doesn’t get why he can’t have boob, so he won’t sleep until he gets it. But Jay can put him down for a nap if I haven’t nursed him, although admittedly it does take longer.

In the last couple weeks however, Isaac has started waking up three to four times a night to nurse again. As a general rule, he’s up for twenty minute to nurse and I can get him back down again very easily, but I have to say, I do miss him sleeping through the night. I expect this too shall pass. And I’m still claiming we’ve made progress because 1) Isaac falls asleep on his own and 2) he spends the entire night in him own bed.

Leave a Reply

