Sleep

June 11, 2009

I know what you’re thinking, you’re thinking ‘sure another post about how your kid doesn’t sleep’. But no my friends that was the one I would have wrote last week. This week my kid is a sleep superstar and I feel the need to brag share.  Maybe it’s because it got soooo bad before we got here, maybe because I haven’t really slept well for almost a year; who cares why, I feel the need to celebrate and brag share our success with you.

After our Florida trip we’d fallen back to old routines of Isaac in our bed latched (if not nursing) almost all night. He’d cut his naps at the sitter’s from two naps totaling 2 – 3 hours to one nap consisting of 20 min. He was a grumpy, sleepy boy with hour long pockets of happy smiley baby. Monday night I bit the bullet and decided it was time to let him fall asleep on his own in his crib. I was plesantly surprised when I only needed to do one check in five minutes after I put him down. He was asleep before 20 min was out. He woke a few times in the night but was always asleep within 15 min and DID IT ON HIS OWN. Tuesday night he slept for 12 hours with only a brief wake up at 3h00, where I went in gave him a kiss and told it was time to sleep; he was quiet and asleep before I reached the door!!! Tonight, he didn’t even cry when I layed him down, just talked to himself for a minute or two and went to sleep!!! I still wake him up to feed  him around 21h00 and 01h00, but plan to wean these out by September. Of course now that I’ve told someone other than Jason we’re doomed to regress, but whatever, this was  a great week.

DSC_0548

sleepy but happy

sleepy but happy

5 Responses to “Sleep”

  1. jermangirl Says:

    Yay!!! So happy for you! Fingers crossed for you that he keeps it up!!

  2. tricia Says:

    very good! Doesn’t it feel good to sleep!

  3. Jenn Says:

    Wow, fantastic news Jackie! I am so happy for you! As a mom of a baby that did not sleep through the night til she was nearly a year old, I can totally appreciate the need to brag/share! It is a great feeling when you can go to bed, and not wake up to calm or feed your munchkin! I hope Isaac keeps this up!!! What a fabulous boy! I love his tractor! Isaac is really cute, and I am sure that your transition to work will go well!

  4. eva Says:

    I’m so glad! Even if it doesn’t last this time, it sure gives you hope doesn’t it??!!

    I love LOVE how you military folks tell time on the 24 hour clock too 🙂 🙂

  5. lisalou Says:

    WOOT! Congrats on the sleep and happy birthday Isaac!


Leave a Reply

