Upcycled Pants

March 23, 2009

According to Green Living Ottawa:

to upcycle refers to taking objects that are no longer used and reworking them into something new. Upcycling is different from “recycling” because recycling involves breaking something down into its basic materials (grinding up bottles for example) before making something new. In upcycling, while original objects may be somewhat processed, they are still recognisable in the new object. Because processing is minimized in upcycling relative to recycling less energy and materials are wasted.

Since Isaac is a big boy and wears cloth diapers I find it impossible to find pants that fit him so I’ve upcycled him a couple of jogger type pants from old wool sweaters. But my mom got him a cute little collared shirt and he needed a pair of khakis or jeans to wear it with (’cause everyone knows you can’t wear joggers with a collared buttondown). I happened to have a pair of old khakis that were worn out so I made him a little pair of elastic waisted pants. They are a little long, but I did that intentionally so he had room to grow. My favorite part is the little tag I put on the side. I’m really quite pleased with how they turned out, but I wish I’d taken the time to put on a back pocket; it would have been useless but cute.

dsc_0067dsc_0068

5 Responses to “Upcycled Pants”

  1. Jenn Says:

    I am impressed! Isaac is a lucky boy!!!! You are one talented mommy!

  2. eva Says:

    Cute! And I have often wondered why baby/toddler clothes don’t have MORE tags sticking out – Megan LOVES tags!

  3. Allison Says:

    Great job, Jackie! Wish I had those mad skills! My poor sewing machine doesn’t see the light of day (just like my stamps…)

    I saw a neat post about the same type of thing here: http://blog.betzwhite.com/2007/10/hand-me-up.html. This lady shows how to upcycle shirts that get too short. 🙂

  4. jermangirl Says:

    I won’t tell Nate about this…or he’ll want to move in with you 🙂

  5. tricia Says:

    wow! very cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    such talent! and great idea!


Leave a Reply

