Cry Baby

February 12, 2009

Last night I hit a wall; a big huge insurmountable ugly wall. Thankfully Jason was home and supportive.

Isaac has never been much of a sleeper. Since the move his day time naps have improved tremendously (at least one is one  hour long or longer and he’s having two or three). But to get there I was having to feed/rock/walk/drive him to sleep. Nights have gone from bad to worse and he was getting up 10 plus times a night (closer to 12 – 15 if I’m being totally honest). He would wake up every hour to nurse or be rocked to sleep and when I’d try to put him down after he’d fallen asleep on my shoulder, more often then not he’d be up and crying again in 10 -15 min. Needless to say it has been taking it’s toll.

To add insult to injury for the last two weeks, for some reason unknown to me, Isaac has been waking at midnight and NOT wanting to go back to sleep. Not with nursing, not with singing, not with rocking…he would fight fight fight and take one to two hours to settle down again.  Hence the wall.

So last night we started sleep learning by the seat of our pants. I’ve been doing research and wasn’t sure how I felt about letting him cry…but I was out of energy and ideas and what we were doing wasn’t working. So last night he cried (and cried and cried*) and Jason checked on him every 15 min or so until midnight (when he finally fell asleep). He slept for three hours then woke up and I fed him and he went back to sleep for two more hours. Now that wasn’t  up there in quantity of sleep he’s had (if you add up all bits and bobs) but it’s the best quality sleep he’s had in months. I on the other hand was so tense and worried I hardly slept at all.

Tonight he cried for less than one hour (with constant reassurance and check-ins from mom). Tonight I’m going to wake him up to feed him and work on weaning his one and only night feed by droping two minutes each night. Tonight I feel so proud of him, he was able to fall asleep on his own (last night we cheated and patted his back and held his hand until he was asleep…today i did more research).   Now I think I should be getting to bed.

*and I might have too, just a little bit, but don’t tell him as we’re presenting a confident parenting front

dsc_01661

3 Responses to “Cry Baby”

  1. Jenn Says:

    That is an adorable pic of your little man, very cute!

    Maegan wakes with crying (on the verge of absolute terror) and nothing ever worked to get her back to sleep. Nursing only angered her further. We still have issues with her crying, but it is only really bad at the start of an ear infection, or her teeth. Her molars are giving her a lot of grief right now.

    Thank God we are going to Mexico in a week! Luckily, the in-laws are fantastic and are keeping both kids : >

  2. jermangirl Says:

    Oh Jackie! I feel your pain and remember that wall really, really well! I hope you quickly find something that works for you all. I know the crying is tough to hear, but you need to do what works for you.

    We found that a solid sleep routine helped when we were trying to teach Nate to go to sleep. It certainly doesn’t work instantly, but as he learns to fall asleep and stay alseep going through the same steps every single time you put him to sleep might help eventually. It certainly worked wonders for Nate once he was comfortable going to sleep on his own in his crib because he could follow the cues and knew the outcome.

    Big Hugs from Nate and I!

  3. lisalou Says:

    Argghh!
    Sleep! We’re having troubles with our gal too. And, to top it off…when she sleeps I get insomnia?!


Leave a Reply

