This That and the other Thing

January 19, 2009

This….I’m back! We’re sort of moved in and kind of getting settled. I bought a GPS the first week we moved here (yah Christmas money) so I’m not stressing driving in the ‘big’ city at all. My parents came to help watch Isaac as we got settled. It was great and Isaac seems to be settling in nicely.

That…day care. OMG, I don’t want to go back to work. We’ve started looking for daycare for Isaac as he is a huge momma’s boy right now and I think we need some practice before we go full time. He’s actually at day care right now…
I’m not too fussed about the lady we have him with right now so I’m still looking. I dropped him off at nine and the tv was already on…
So since I know some of you have kids in day care now…what questions did you ask and what made you comfortable with the person who spends so much time with your precious little one?

The other thing….a vacuum. We bit the bullet and spent way too much on a vacuum and bought a dyson 14 animal. Only it wasn’t too much as this thing ROCKS…I won’t even tell you how disgusting it was to see the dust it pulled out of the carpets that my dad had just vacuumed with our old one.

2 Responses to “This That and the other Thing”

  1. eva Says:

    Definitely going to check out that Dyson 14. Sounds awesome. Our vacuum has a big loud voice but not much more.
    Daycare: we went with a non-profit local daycare centre after visiting about 8 centres and reading the safety/incident reviews available through the local health authority re. cleanliness, management stability, loss of kids on field trips etc. Honestly though, the one we’re at isn’t the best daycare in the ratings, but we like the caregivers and the location so much that it felt right. Plus, the nonprofit aspect was appealing – the employees are being paid properly for their important work, and no one is cutting corners so they can buy a bigger TV…at a nonprofit the parents are members of a Society and have a lot of input into daycare decisions. So far so good. We didn’t look at any daycares in people’s houses though, so I have no idea how one would select those. Good luck! And good for you planning well in advance!

  2. lisalou Says:

    I am glad to hear that all is well. Argh! Day care! So crazy, isn’t it? We’re on a bunch of wait lists around town. My intention to return to work letter is due next month!


Leave a Reply

