Forgiveness

September 12, 2008

I’m usually pretty good at forgiveness, I’m not one to hold a grudge. While this is true in my relations with other people, it is not so true with myself. Isaac and I were in a car accident yesterday, don’t worry everyone is fine, except for maybe the car. The accident was my fault, I was turning left across two lanes of traffic. The lane closest to me had four cars in it all turning left also, I didn’t see the car coming in the far lane and unfortunately we collided. I was pretty shook up by the accident, but thankful everyone was alright. Then I spent the rest of the day going over what if’s and I should haves….

Before the accident we were already parked right beside the restaurant I was suppose to join a friend at for lunch, I should have just stayed there and walked to her house.

On my way to her house I got turned around a lost, I was late and probably rushing. I know I checked to make sure it was safe to turn, I know I thought it was safe to turn; I was wrong, I should have slowed down and waited for the lane closest to me to clear so I had a better view.

What if it had been worse and some one had gotten hurt

What if Isaac had gotten hurt

so on and so forth. I know if it had been Jason in the accident I would say don’t worry about it, what’s done is done, we can’t change the past, it’s only a car, at least no one was hurt. But with myself I just keep going back to the what ifs and the I should haves. So today I’m going to work very hard at forgiving myself and rejoicing in my perfect baby boy who is fine without a mark on his precious pink skin. Today I will focus on the fact that no one was hurt.

One Response to “Forgiveness”

  1. eva Says:

    Yikes! Thank goodness you’re both ok. Those experiences really make you take stock of what’s important – being a few minutes late is just fine in the big scheme of things eh?


Leave a Reply

