I Died A Little Today

September 10, 2008

Literally, but wait, we’ll get to that. I think this is what they call a comedy of errors (or at least I thought it was funny).

Lets start from the beginning. While I was pregnant I bought a used Fisher Price Aquarium swing for Isaac. I made the lady turn it on and it clicked and she gave it a push, the music played; I didn’t have a baby, what did I know I thought it worked. Well I was wrong and it didn’t work, I was rather disappointed when we tried Isaac in it. After a visit with the in-laws, who had borrowed a working swing, we decided we needed one for home (it really provides me with some hands free time and can almost guarantee Jason and I can eat dinner together, unless of course Isaac is  hungry too). I found a newer used swing on Kijiji and went to go pick it up the other day. I was running late (surprise, surprise) so I asked Jason for some cash to pay for it and said I’d hit the bank on the way home to get some more cash out. I’m pleased to say the new swing works fine; unfortunately the same could not be said about the cash machine at the gas station. It was one that belonged to my bank (I refuse to pay the extra charges to use another banks machines) but it took my card and didn’t recognize it, it kept asking me to insert my card. Needless to say I high-tailed it home to cancel my client card. All this happened yesterday.

Today I went down to the local branch to get a temporary card and thus access to my accounts. I got the card without any hassels, but when I tried to use it in the bank machine it said the card was invalid. I went back to the nice young man who gave me the card and told him it doesn’t work. ‘Curious’ he said, let me have a look. He ran the card and it told him I was deceased….hmmm well that is a problem. Anyhow it took only about ten minutes to bring me back from the dead, but unfortunetly the newly reborn are not entitled to bank cards on the same day of resurrection, so I can’t get my new card until tomorrow. Thankfully the nice man realized I was indeed alive and in need of cash so he accessed my accounts for me.

5 Responses to “I Died A Little Today”

  1. Jenn MacMillan Says:

    Wow, you had quite the ordeal! You died, came back to life, and now have a used working swing. Did you return the other one?

    Maegan likes her swing, but only if she is in a good mood before I put her in. Otherwise I think it makes her angrier!

    How exactly did you die? Was it a traumatic death or peaceful? It could not have been due to old age!

  2. Jenn MacMillan Says:

    Nevermind, I see you bought the old swing used. Obviously you cannot return it!

  3. eva Says:

    Awesome! I’ve always kind of pined for some kind of bureaucratic anecdote of my own like that 🙂

  4. jermangirl Says:

    Strange….but very funny!


Leave a Reply

