West Coast Tour: Day One

July 30, 2008

   Well we’re still firmly planted in Ontario, but since Jason didn’t get off course early enough to get us to Ottawa for a 19h00 flight today, we drove in last night and spent the night at Nana Sheri’s. An update on the nap situation, we wanted to get an early start on the drive since Jay had a busy morning today and needed to get his uniform ready and get some sleep. I actually had to wake Isaac up from his third nap to feed him before we left (staving of screaming hungry baby in the backseat when there is just nowhere to stop and feed him)  Jason gave Isaac a bottle since a bottle can accomplish in two to three minutes what takes anywhere from 30 – 60 min at the breast. Believe it or not, this was my bright idea; but I didn’t have the foresight to pump so boy was I sore when it ended up being six hours before he fed on one side!. Anyhow he ate most of the bottle and passed out on the drive. He squawked a few times, but I think he was just too full as we’d woken him up so he wasn’t fully finished digesting his last feed. We got to Sheri’s and Jason made a quick departure to get home before 22h00. Isaac woke up, fed on one side for about five minutes and passed out AGAIN for two hours (oh why oh why did I not pack my pump!!). Anyhow he had a fairly normal night for him, although we were up three times instead of two and he stayed up and puked five times between 4h00 and 5h30 this morning, but in all fairness he’d slept for almost 20 hours of the last 24 and I was a little full so I think he probably gorged himself at every feed. He is now napping beside me while I waste the time I should be showering cruising the net. We have a little foray to a baby shop planned this morning and then laundry and off to the airport this afternoon.

2 Responses to “West Coast Tour: Day One”

  1. eva Says:

    Overfull boobs suck. Just wait until HE sleeps through the night and YOU don’t because your boobs are full and achy!

  2. Jen Says:

    Eva is so right on that one….it sucks! I have a pump you can borrow while you’re in Comox if need be. I’m not longer pumping 🙂


Leave a Reply

