Thank Goodness for Dads!

July 27, 2008

Isaac and I had a horrible day night Thursday night and an awful day friday. He would not sleep for more than 20 min to an hour at a time and he wanted to nurse constantly. We’re grasping at straws here but has he is almost six weeks old, I’m going with growth spurt coupled with bad tummy from raw garlic I consumed in our homemade guacamole (yummy, but deadly).

As he was refusing to sleep, Isaac was ridiculously over tired by the time his usual 23h00 bed time rolled around.  I had tried everything, we walked him (he slept in the carrier and woke up screaming when we got home), I rocked him, I sang to him, I fed him, I changed him, Jason bathed him, I walked him again, and again. Finally Jason said he’d take him and told me to go to bed. He popped Isaac in the carseat and after five minutes at highway speed the boy was asleep. Jason kept him until 03h00 so I actually got some sleep.

Then Saturday as planned I left Isaac with Jason and a bottle while I went off to get my haircut. I also got some glamorous errands done at shoppers and the grocery store, but it was nice to be out and about and know that Isaac was doing just fine with his Papa. He finished the bottle in record time though and needed a walk to settle down, so maybe next time I’ll leave Jay with a bit of a reserve in case one four ounce bottle just isn’t enough for my chunky monkey that day 🙂

Content for a short period after bathtime

Content for a short period after bathtime

Isaac fussing

Isaac fussing

2 Responses to “Thank Goodness for Dads!”

  1. jermangirl Says:

    Awww…so sorry to hear that Isaac isn’t sleeping well and that he is still having tummy troubles. Poor boy! Thank goodness for Daddies that are happy to take over for exhausted mommies!! Hope the next couple days go better for you!

    BTW – when are you going to on the Island??

  2. eva Says:

    Boy do I feel your pain. From 6 weeks until 3.5 months we had a lot of trouble with Megan’s sleep. It gets better as I’m sure you’ve heard! And thankfully you have a great husband around – helps maintain sanity. Plus, again I have to commend you for being wise enough to get the bottle happening early on – now you get the payoff!


Leave a Reply

