Giving Kingston Its Due

May 12, 2008

We’ve lived in Kingston for almost two years now and we still miss the Island and the Comox Valley something terrible. I’m sure a lot of it has to do with the family and friends we have out west, but there was something about valley life (and all the snowboarding, mountain biking, hiking, and camping right at our finger tips) that just got into us and stuck. I don’t know if it is normal or if it’s just me, but I tend to plan and visualize a trip downtown before I take it; for example if I want to buy thank-you cards, I think about where I can buy them, where that store is located and then where I want to park and what else I can get done in the area. To this day (after almost two years) I catch myself picturing downtown Courtenay instead of Kingston. In fact I did it again the other day when I was looking for some thank-you cards. There is a street here in Kingston that is similar to 5th street in Courtenay in that is is full of little specialty shops and fun for walking and browsing. Because it is much closer to home and school, I try to do most of our shopping on this end of the city. Anyhow, I was thinking of where to stop and inevitably thought of a Courtenay store. I always feel a little foolish when this happens, but I was downtown and it was a sunny day and I got to thinking…we’ve got a pretty good thing going here…maybe it’s time we start to acknowledge Kingston for what it has to offer us. After all this is where our first child will be born, and now that I’m taking a year off to stay at home with baby we’re going to be here for longer than originally planned. Kingston really is a nice city, especially in the spring, summer and fall. It’s huge tourist destination in the summer and it can get a little busy downtown, but we’re locals and know where to park (for free) in short walking distance to the water front and the great ice cream parlours. It’s not the north-east woods, but we’ve got a pretty great paved walking path just out the door that is great for walking with a stroller and for rollerblading and there is a huge group of soccer fields just down the street that we can take the dogs to for a good run and some ball play. I mean really… who are we to complain, this is a great city and a good posting; we’ve had more visitors in the less than two years we’ve been here than the five that we were in the valley. Besides we’ll eventually make our way back out west, until then I’ve decided to dwell on all the positives this city has to offer.

2 Responses to “Giving Kingston Its Due”

  1. jermangirl Says:

    I can understand totally that after Comox you would compare every city to our beautiful Valley! But I have such fond memories of Kingston – especially in Spring, Summer and Fall! I’m sure you’ll get to know Kingston a bit better now that you’ll be off for a year and living there. Next time you’re downtown – have some White Mountain for me! Yumm!

  2. theunforgivingminute Says:

    I loved Kingston while I was there. There was so much to do and it’s really such a beautiful city. Take advantage of it while you have it afterall you could be somewhere like say…Winipeg or even worse – Cold Lake!!! ha ha ha….sorry Jen. Had to get that shot in!


Leave a Reply

