Animal Kingdom

March 19, 2008

We decided that everyone starts their Disney vacation in the Magic Kingdom so strategy dictated that we start at Animal Kingdom (usually one of the quieter parks) to avoid the crowds. As per our usual Disney strategy we were there for shortly after park opening and raced to the coolest ride in the park to get a fast pass and get one ride in the standby line before the wait got too long. Of course at six months pregnant I could not do any of the coolest rides in the park, but I lead the charge to the new roller coaster Everest since I had the park tickets needed to gain our fast passes. This was our general strategy, we’d hit the ‘big’ rides first things and I’d wait while Jason, Steven and Melanie did the ride (this gave me time to rest, eat and pee) then we’d head off to the tamer rides that I could participate in. Since Jason and I were just at Disney in August I didn’t mind too much that I couldn’t go on the roller coasters, if I hadn’t gotten to do Everest at least once before it would have hurt, ’cause boy that is one cool roller coaster. Here are some shots Steven took on one of their rides.

The only ride that I ignored the ‘Not recommended for expecting mothers’ warning on was the Safari in Animal Kingdom, as I said we’ve been on it before I could not for the life of me figure out why it was not recommended, you are in a ‘jeep’ the whole ride and just drive around looking at animals. Here are some shots we got:

We also did a walking trial the Jay and I must have missed in the heat of summer and got some awesome views of tigers.

This is one of Jason and I on said trail

We also goofed around in the souvenir shop and got some nice tourist to take this shot for us:

The tree lady we saw this summer was still there. She walks around on stilts and moves like a member of Cirque du Soleil; in fact after Jason and I saw her in the summer we decided we had to check to see if Cirque was performing in Orlando and of course they were (they have a permanent show in Downtown Disney). It was an awesome show (although so far nothing has compared to Varekai, but I think that is because it was our first Cirque experience and just getting there was impromptu and a lot of fun). Can you see her face?

And finally, no trip to Animal Kingdom is complete without a picture of the Tree of Life which is in the center of the park:

3 Responses to “Animal Kingdom”

  1. theunforgivingminute Says:

    Wow! You have some great pictures! I’m really excited to go now! I’ll definitely have to check out Animal Kingdom now. Thanks for sharing!

  2. tricia Says:

    this place looks amazing…what do ya say we plan for a cousins n’ kids trip in 4 years? the Grandmas can come too!

  3. TheDeeZone Says:

    Just posted a shot I took of Everest during the construction phase. I think Animal Kingdom is my favorite of the WDW parks.


Leave a Reply

