All Dressed Up

February 29, 2008

My poor husband had to take a picture of his cranky pregnant wife last night before I left for a mess diner. For those non-military readers a mess diner is a fancy to-do where we all get together (usually in our fanciest and sharpest looking uniforms) and share a good meal with wine and have marches played and toasts and speeches made. Now my fancy uniform (mess kit) was cut for me seven years ago when I graduated from university so there was NO WAY it was going to fit. I wrote a quick e-mail and go permission to wear civilian attire. Thankfully my friend Sue is about three months ahead of me in her pregnancy and she needed a fancy outfit for the Christmas ball so she had a beautiful long jacket made out of some material she picked up while working for a few weeks in China. Better yet, although Sue is a bit more petite than I, the jacket fit and she lent it to me. Back to poor Jason being stuck taking pictures; We’d both just woken up from an afternoon nap so we weren’t at our most patient anyways. He took three initial shots and I complained they were to far away, he took two more from a very unflattering angle which I promptly deleted…we both walked away from the camera to breath. I asked for one more try before I left and here is the result.

I guess I should have kept some of the first ones since they showed the length of the coat and the entire outfit, but as I said I had just woken up and wasn’t too pleased with any of the pictures.

I think a lot of it is stemming from my hate for my hair at this length. I’m still trying (in vain in seems) to grow this mop out. It feels like the only thing that is growing with any speed is (quite annoyingly) my bangs. I made a comment yesterday to Jason about wanting to cut it all off again, he said I wasn’t allowed. Now please don’t misunderstand, much to my husbands chagrin, he has no say in how I wear my hair and I do not need to ask permission. But it was my idea to grow it out and if he had only said ‘do whatever you want’; which is sometimes his reply when I whine unnecessarily about something completely in my control, I probably would have an appointment today to get it cut. Unfortunately without him ‘letting me off the hook’ from my original goal to grow it out long enough to pull back I can’t quite give up that easily. So much for enabling…lol.

One Response to “All Dressed Up”

  1. Jen Says:

    Oh Jackie!! Dale and I had a very similar photo session when I was about 25 weeks! It’s kind of funny to think back to it now! The jacket looks lovely (And I can IMAGINE) the length.

    Hope you had a good time at the Mess Dinner, despite not being able to partake in any wine 🙂 Tough it out with the hair though! Being able to pull it back will make a huge difference once you have a little one around!


Leave a Reply

