The Green Monster

February 8, 2008

       We’ve been living in Kingston now for over a year and a half, but have yet to establish a strong group of friends and acquaintances, not like we had in Comox. Now this is mostly our fault, we’ve treated this posting as temporary right from the start (I mean we were only going to be here for two years) and we’ve been busy with work/school/life and haven’t really gotten to involved with the local community (ie. going to local theatre, joining a club, starting a sport..etc.). Don’t get me wrong we’ve got some great friends here and enjoy get-togethers and game nights; but I don’t have the same ‘available’ friend structure I had back home. By this I mean someone I can call up short notice and say, hey lets go……(for coffee, to a show, shopping, walk the dogs etc.). But because he’s on course with a large group of displaced guys Jason has no problem finding someone to go do something with (I mean when you live in a room with three other grown men, it’s not hard to find excuses to go out), and I’m ashamed to admit I’m jealous.

              Now , it’s not like I’m not welcome to join them (most of the time), but for me a trip to Futureshop and Audiotronics does not make a fun afternoon (just as I’m sure Jason doesn’t really enjoy shopping for fabric and trolling consignment baby stores). I guess I need to bite the bullet and start making some phone calls so that next time I want to kill a few hours in the afternoon by going out for coffee, or catching a ‘chick-flick’ that does not appeal to the boys, I can find someone who is free.

2 Responses to “The Green Monster”

  1. theunforgivingminute Says:

    I completely know how you feel. I just spent the last two years in Kingston while I was going to school. We, like you, treated the posting as very temporary. I had zero short notice friends to go for coffee with. In fact I think we only went out with friends once or twice the entire time we were there.
    We are in Trenton now, a permanent posting and are having a blast! We have gone out more in the past 6 months than we had in the whole time in Kingston. A complete shame since Kingston is such a great city!
    If you need someone to troll for baby clothes with you, I’d be happy to come up for the day.
    Any idea where you are posted after Jason is done his course?

  2. jackie Says:

    With any luck he’ll be posted to Ottawa since that’s where I’m posted. If not, well we’ll cross that road when we get there.


Leave a Reply

