Babywearing

January 30, 2008

   So before we were even pregnant (but almost everyone else I know was) I got very interested in anything baby. I followed a few links and viewed a few blogs and decided baby or not, I NEEDED an Ergo and a Mei Tai Baby (MTB). Somehow I even convinced Jason to support this purchase with the notion that while we’re not pregnant yet (or not even trying at the time..too early in the school year) we know we want kids, and beside if for some reason that didn’t work out, they’d make marvelous gifts. Not sure how that worked, I think he might have still been suffering from speaker glee (common side effect of spending what your wife thinks is too much money on a new set of speakers or some other stereo component). Anyhow we’ve had the Ergo and the Mei Tai Baby in the closet for awhile, then once we found out we were expecting I decided that I need a wrap. After seeing Lorne and Angela’s Moby in action and seeing a picture of Dale with Nate in a Moby I decided that was what I wanted, but while researching these I discovered Gypsy Mama Bali Breeze (GMBB), gauze wraps that are not stretchy but are said to be nice and cool for hot summer days. Since we’re expecting a June baby I decided a GMBB would be a better choice. I became rather addicted to thebabywearer.com (TBW) and found a used one in Jason friendly colours. Once it arrived I decided I need to learn how to use it so I looked up babywearers in the Kingston area. There is a group that meet once a month and I went to a meeting and got to try one of the ladies woven wraps a BB Slen (until then I was thinking I wanted a Didy after reading countless posts on TBW). So then I decided that a) I needed a woven wrap and b) I wanted a BB slen and c) you need at least two colours of wraps so as not to get bored. Anyhow over the Christmas period I acquired two beautifully broken in previously loved BB Slen wraps…now I’m done…at least until baby gets here. I should note I’ve been interested in baby wearing since before me and my friends even thought about having kids. I’d seen a lady wearing her toddler in Vallhalla downtown Courtenay and after staring for about two minutes finally approached her and asked about it. I loved the idea of not having to maneuver a stroller through the store and her little man just seemed so happy. Enough talk, here is the good stuff – stash pictures:

From left to right: MTB with dragon flies, blueberry BB Slen, MGBB Gaia, paprika BBSlen, and Black Ergo with camel lining.

Close up of beautiful blueberry

Close up of savory paprika

You’ll note all carrier (save maybe the shimmery dragonflies) are in papa friendly colours too!

3 Responses to “Babywearing”

  1. jermangirl Says:

    Very nice stash Jackie!! Love the colours. Good choice on the woven wrap. We got ours previously loved from Kelly and Pat and it was nice, but if I were getting another one I would got for a woven not a stretchy, since Nate slipped down in it a lot on walks.

    I have to tell you…I loved carrying Nate in my new Beco in the airport on my Ottawa trip. I was way faster getting through the airport than all the other mamas with strollers and he was much happier too! Babywearing is definitely the way to go!

  2. jermangirl Says:

    P.S. Forgot to mention that while in Ottawa Dale and I argued a little over who got to carry the little man!

  3. eva Says:

    We love our Ergo with newborn insert for hiking and grocery shopping. We use the cudly wrap (like Moby) around the house, and when I need to pop Megan onto me for short term, like when I’m getting ready to go out and have to make umpteen trips to the car, I put her into the Little Star sling. Babywearing is definitely way easier than the stroller!


Leave a Reply

